A Saturday Evening LTC Story

by

Let’s pick this story up as I leave the Chapters book store on Wellington Road S. I head over to the transit shelter to wait for the Wellington northbound and arrive there at 9:45 p.m.

There’s a bench in this shelter, which isn’t often the case, but it’s too cold to sit on. Standing wasn’t too much of a problem for the first 20 minutes, but then it started to rapidly take it’s toll on my bum knee. And I’d had to start shuffling to stay warm by this time, which didn’t help matters a lot.

The Wellington #242 finally arrived at 10:35 p.m., temporarily ending my agony. Receiving my transfer, and aware of the sad reality that there’s no Baseline service in the evenings, I asked for advice on how to best get the rest of the way home to Eagle Crescent in the shortest time.

“Where’s Eagle Crescent?” asked the operator. “East of Adelaide and north off Commissioners” I replied. “Well then,” says she, “you have to go downtown and transfer to the Westmount.”

I guess it’s a good thing that I wasn’t from out of town or newly moved here, but it seemed of no consolation at the time. “I know better than that. Try again,” says I.

After consulting with her dispatcher, the operator informed me that my best course of action would be to transfer to the #1 King Edward. So, off I hopped at Wellington/Raywood at 10:48 p.m., still chilled, and began another wait.

22 cold minutes later, the King Edward bus #467 finally arrived at 11:10 p.m., and my journey resumed. Over to Thompson Road, north on Pond Mills, and east to the terminal point where we arrived at 11:22 p.m.

Having grabbed himself a Timmie’s beverage and attended to whatever else he may have had to do, the driver returned and off we went at 11:31 p.m.

West along Commissioners to King Edward, where I exited at 11:34 p.m. Through the tunnel walkway to Eagle, necessary but uncomfortable after dusk, and up the hill to the my end of the street. Home at last, at 11:48 p.m.

Total time waiting for buses, 72 minutes. Total actual travelling time on the buses, 28 minutes. Time waiting for the driver to have his break, 9 minutes. Time walking from the bus stop to home, 14 minutes. Total trip time by LTC, 2 hours and 3 minutes. Total trip time by automobile, about 10 minutes.

After reading this and some of my previous LTC experiences, can you fault me for thinking that Larry Ducharme and John Ford ought to have their asses fired for incompetence?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “A Saturday Evening LTC Story”

  1. Bill Deys Says:

    I’ve only taken the bus a handful of times, mostly because I live outside the city and thus no bus route but I know from talking to people who have lived in London, or spent any time here, who have also lived in other cities (Toronto and Hamilton are two that come to mind) and they say London has the worst transit system they have seen! I also remember getting from the middle of Brooklyn to West Manhattan in like 10 min on public transit, thanks to the help of some native New Yorkers of course. Even still I don’t know what they can do in London to improve!

Leave a Reply

