A New Deal For London Pedestrians, Not Posturing

by

London’s pedestrians (and bicyclists and public transit users also, for that matter) deserve a new deal from City Hall. A better deal. Action, in addition to the rhetoric. It’s time to turn up the heat.

From: Gregory Fowler
To: W. J. Bud Polhill
Sent: Monday, May 5, 2008 2:50:48 PM
Subject: A New Deal For Pedestrians

Controller Polhill,

Given the sore lack of response from my own ward Councillor (Roger Caranci) with respect to pedestrian issues, I was gratified that you did offer to assist my inquiries re my proposal for a Pedestrian Committee, following my submission to the Governance Task Force at the Earl Nichols Arena.

However, since there’s been no word from you in all of this time, I have to start questioning whether or not it was simply public posturing on your part? Hopefully, you will dispel that fear before much longer.

Please review: Lobbying For London Pedestrians

Respectfully,

Greg Fowler.

2 Responses to “A New Deal For London Pedestrians, Not Posturing”

  1. Pat Says:

    Is another committee the solution?

  2. fowgre Says:

    It absolutely is, in my studied opinion, and based upon years of trying to lobby local politicians. Recommendations that come from advisory committees are necessarily accorded more credibility and repect than what can be otherwise obtained. Witness the way that my pedestrian-related concerns are ignored even by my own ward councillor. Even when I’ve managed to obtain a police report to back me up.

Leave a Reply

