In The News – 2008/06/22

by

add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine Reddit Fark TailRank

fowgre avatarLocal, regional, national, and international. Whatever catches my attention and interests me. Updated throughout the day!

Disclaimer: I regret that I can only ensure the validity of these links at the time that the articles are published. The (unscrupulous?) practise of some media outlets to subsequently redirect links to advertisements is completely out of my control and beyond my capacity to monitor.

Canada/Ontario/London

  • Police Media Releases
  • Today’s LFP anti-moratorium disinformation article
  • Canada/Ontario

  • Driver user fees are long overdue
  • Canada/Other

  • Are ‘fair trials’ only a Canadian pretense?
  • International

  • How India is exacerbating a global food crisis
  • Mugabe’s election campaign of killings
  • Seas of Trash
  • Tags:

    8 Responses to “In The News – 2008/06/22”

    1. picard102 Says:

      What exactly was disinformation in the LFP article?

    2. fowgre Says:

      The continued pretense that this issue is simply about using a drive-thru or having to park a vehicle. It ignores the fact (and the larger societal debate that motorists don’t want to engage in) that people don’t have to be in those cars in the first place.

    3. picard102 Says:

      So you are against drive-thrus becuase people drive cars?

    4. fowgre Says:

      I’m in favour of a moratorium on the construction of any new drive-thru’s at the current time. I’m in favour of other initiatives which will reduce our harmful impact upon the environment. I’m in favour of other initiatives which will promote alternative methods of transportation. I’m strongly in favour of initiatives which offer increased protection of pedestrians.

    5. picard102 Says:

      But would you agree in being those things you seem to be decidedly, and almost feverantly, anti-car? Or do you see their right to co-exist with other forms of transportation, and that the majority of people seem to prefer them?

    6. fowgre Says:

      There’s too many of them, and their numbers are increasing. Besides the cost to the environment, and the danger that they too often pose to law-abiding pedestrians, they also represent a huge financial cost to the municipality which I don’t think can be sustained without robbing other necessary areas of investment.

    7. picard102 Says:

      Don’t you think the all or nothing approach isn’t going to win anyone over that’s not already invested in those ideas?

    8. fowgre Says:

      What “all or nothing” approach? I’m not calling for the complete removal of all vehicles from the roads. I’m not calling for a complete vehicle ownership ban for individuals. Actually, I think that my position is pretty moderate and responsible.

    Leave a comment