LTC Ignorance

by

If it had simply been an isolated incident I’d have ignored it. But it’s been going on for years, and I’ve phoned and emailed in many complaints, and yet it continues.

I’m referring to the ignorance of LTC drivers who make only the briefest of stops at major transfer points and then take off again without making any effort to discover if there are users attempting to make a connection.

This rant is compliments of the driver of the Dundas (route #2) bus #195 who pulled away from the northwest corner of Dundas/Adelaide at 12:51pm while several individuals who had just exited the Adelaide northbound (myself included) tried to accomplish a transfer.

How fast did the driver take off? After the bus passed me while I was crossing the intersection, I immediately pulled out my cellphone, intending to shoot some video (based on previous experience). Before I could execute the few menu commands necessary to do that, the bus stopped and left 😦

So I used the cellphone to call LTC ‘customer service’ (say that without laughing). After being left on hold for +5 minutes (a strategy designed to reduce complaints?) I was then transferred to somebody’s voicemail.

I’ll let you know what response I get. If I ever get one.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “LTC Ignorance”

  1. Kevin Says:

    This is one complain that I have myself.

    The best experience I had involving this issue (not in London) was in St. Catharines, Ontario. the bus that I needed to connect to took off too soon, however, the bus driver of the bus I just got off was kind enough to call the other bus and let him know that I wanted to transfer. Sure I had to walk a couple extra steps, but I got my connection none the less.

    Apparently it is practice in St. Catharines for a bus driver to call ahead to connecting buses if passengers make it known that they are wanting to transfer.

  2. josh Says:

    I read somewhere (The Londoner?) that passengers may request (require?) drivers to radio ahead to their connection/next bus driver that there will be a connecting passenger.

    LTC usually responds to questions I submit through their web site. I suggest you try to reach LTC this way if you think your phone message has been lost.

  3. fowgre Says:

    As explained to me by a LTC administrator, a passenger may request of a driver that they radio a request to the dispatcher to hold the passenger’s connecting bus, and that having received such a request the driver is obliged to do so. If you encounter a driver who won’t comply or who gives you a hard time about it, simply note the bus #, location, time, etc. and make a complaint. That’s important, because the LTC is a complaints-driven system. If they don’t receive complaints, they make an assumption that everything’s ok.

  4. Kevin Says:

    Wow, I had no idea. You think that they would have this posted on their buses and on their website (I couldnt find it on their website)

  5. fowgre Says:

    Kev: It’s not posted, like a lot of other things. Like I said, I extracted it out of one of them during the campaign. Now that I’m no longer a candidate for election it’s become tougher to get answers to things again.

Leave a Reply

