The Breath

by

It’s midnight and I’m having difficulty breathing. My difficulty is not due to congestion or a dripping nose. My difficulty could be caused by this common cold tricking my mind.

If this is true, then this trick has me believing the air in my room contains something both pungent and foreign. If false, then I have reason to be concerned over what surrounds me and causes me discomfort.*

I think I’ll go to sleep happy in the knowledge that the common cold is muting my senses (and not blame it for maybe adding a few small inputs).

* I seem to fall into category three of a list which was included in a larger compilation** of resources. I don’t think my issue tonight is with the chemicals described; I think this year I’ll begin asking people what brands they buy in hopes of narrowing down the offending chemical.

** Found through Newsvine which I encountered recently when looking for an AP article which was picked up by WIRED magazine. The author, Anick Jesdanun, publishes on Newsvine.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “The Breath”

  1. Kevin Says:

    Josh,

    Could I ask for a little introduction as I dont know anything about you.

  2. John Leschinski Says:

    Wow, this is fairly vague.

  3. fowgre Says:

    Kevin: I’ve been holding off on a number of things until the move to the new site. With respect to contributors, I’m still deciding what information I need to have in order to confirm identities, and how much I need to insist be publicly revealed. Any thoughts by you or anybody else would be appreciated. For example, should there be a bio page for each contributor? If so, what info should have to be on it?

  4. fowgre Says:

    John: Maybe the vagueness was because of the cold? Maybe if you asked specific questions about anything you’re unsure of? Play nice 😉

  5. Kevin Says:

    Greg:

    Fair enough. As for a contributors page, I really like this one as a template

    http://www.matthewgood.org/authors/

    Its simple and gives everyone’s brief information in one place.

    There is a link to a more detailed place where you can find links to their personal sites and select social networking sites. I think you should have full names, just for accountability purposes (to save yourself lots of grief as well).

    Just my two sense. If you want an opinion on anything else please let me know.

  6. fowgre Says:

    Kevin: I like that bio page a lot. As for opinions, I’ll take whatever you’ve got about anything.

  7. fowgre Says:

    I’m bad. Just found out that this post was only a draft and not intended for publication yet. Which I totally believe since he’s got another draft post under construction at the moment and I almost hit the ‘publish’ button on it as well.

    I’m going to ask Josh if he wants it deleted and, if he does, then that’s what will happen. I’m telling you this now so that there’s no question about it’s disappearance.

    To Josh, my apology.

Leave a Reply

