What’s That Building?

by

This is more of an inquiry than anything else.

For the past month I have been going past the LTC depot on Highbury Ave. Not too long ago I saw some construction beginning on the LTC property adjacent to the rail lines. At first I didn’t have a clue at what was going on here, I didn’t remember hearing anything about new construction for the LTC aside from the new terminal that they are wanting to build in west London, so needless to say I was a little curious of what was going on.

Last week I went by the Highbury location again and notices a Circus like tent structure that had been erected. Plastered with the LTC Blue, Green and White, at the time of my passing this structure was housing 5 buses with what looked like the capacity to hold 10 or so. (I was unable to snap a picture at the time, but if anyone else as one please post the link so people know what we are talking about.)

My question is this:

What is the actual purpose of this hideous structure? (Are the Shriners looking for a new place to host their annual circus in the city?) It is obviously a temporary structure, so is it to tide the LTC over until it gets its satellite location built? Why is it so tall, this seems unnecessary to me, are they going to start stacking the buses now? I guess I just don’t get it.

If someone has some insight into this I would be happy to hear it.

On another LTC note, the LTC has decided that they want to increase bus fare 8-10% in order to finance projects such as their rapid transit bus system, their satellite facility and adding new buses to their fleet. My two sense on this? I’m not going to even get started.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “What’s That Building?”

  1. fowgre Says:

    I’ll be writing something about the proposed fare increase very soon.

  2. fowgre Says:

    I can’t comment on the structure that you’re referring to, and it’s probably not even related, but I just remembered that the LTC passed a motion a while ago to proceed with efforts to be allowed “to own real property as it does other assets.” (source: http://www.londontransit.ca/agendas/090308vi3.pdf)

  3. fowgre Says:

    Here’s what I’ve been able to come up with. LTC is planning to spend $21.4 for a new satellite facility on Wonderland Rd. S. so that it will have the future capacity that it figures it will need to store buses. In the meantime, it’s spending $0.6M to construct a temporary bus storage facility at 450 Highbury Ave. I’m not saying that’s the structure you’re referring to, but it’s my best guess at this time. You can read more here: http://www.londontransit.ca/agendas/062508vii1.pdf

  4. Kevin Says:

    Greg. Thanks for the links.

    The second one you provided seems to fit the bill. Im hoping to snap a picture of the facility next time I am by the location.

Leave a Reply

